The bustling commercial district surrounding East Hennepin Avenue has hosted many names throughout the years, but everyone knows its unforgettable landmarks . . . Surdyk’s, Nye’s, Kramarczuk’s, Historic Main Street, and Lourdes Church.
Located across the Hennepin Bridge from Downtown, this neighborhood was originally platted in 1849 as the Town of St. Anthony Falls and later merged with the city of Minneapolis in 1872. It’s proximity to the Mississippi River, Downtown, the University, and Northeast Minneapolis have made it an influential hub for transit, industry, and commerce. The last decade has brought dramatic change and the area around East Hennepin is now considered one of the trendiest & most exciting places in Minneapolis to eat, shop, and live.
Join us for a “behind-the-scenes” history of the busy streets, unique businesses, and colorful people that have shaped this popular walking neighborhood. Hear amazing stories told from the perspective of its residents, shopkeepers, and local historians. Come away with perspective on what life here might have actually felt like throughout the neighborhood’s most defining eras.
• Sun, June 15, 10-11:15am (w/Preserve Minneapolis) (Fathers Day!)
• Sun, July 20, 10-11:15am
• Sun, Aug 17, 10-11:15am
• Sun, Sept 14, 10-11:15am (w/Preserve Minneapolis)
• Sun, Oct 19, 10-11:15am
Cost: $10 | Credit Cards Accepted
Note: Rain or Shine | Dogs Welcome
Place: Meet at the corner of Main Street and East Hennepin Avenue (Riverplace)
(the tour is a circle ending at the Ard Godfrey House nearby)
Guides: Michael Rainville, Scott Parkin, & Leslie Palmer-Ross